Heath Quartet


Formed in 2002 at the Royal Northern College of Music, the Heath Quartet was awarded a Borletti-Buitoni Special Ensemble Scholarship and in 2012 won Ensemble Prize at the Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. In 2013 the quartet became the first ensemble in 15 years to win the prestigious Royal Philharmonic Society’s Young Artists Award.

Notable performances have included a complete Beethoven cycle at the Kilkenny Arts Festival, a John Tavener world premiere at the BBC Proms, and concerts at the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, the Musée d’Orsay and Louvre in Paris, and the Musikverein and Konzerthaus in Vienna. The quartet has played in New York at both Carnegie Hall and the Lincoln Centre, and continues its residence at Middlebury College, Vermont.

The Quartet has worked with leading composers including Hans Abrahamsen, Louis Andriessen, Brett Dean, Anthony Gilbert, and Sofia Gubaidulina, taking part in the European premiere of Steve Mackey’s Gaggle and Flock for string octet, the world premiere of John Musto’s Another Place with Carolyn Sampson at the Wigmore Hall, and critically acclaimed performances of Ligeti’s Quartet No.2 and Thomas Ades’ Arcadiana for The Park Lane Group.

The quartet’s members are Professors of Chamber Music at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama. Their recording of Tchaikovsky’s first and third quartets earned superlatives, while their complete Tippett cycle won the 2016 Gramophone Chamber Award.

The Heath Quartet appears by arrangement with Harmonia Mundi.

violins: Oliver Heath, Cerys Jones
viola: Gary Pomeroy | cello: Christopher Murray

(Since making this recording Cerys Jones has left the Quartet)