Les Solistes de Paris


Les Solistes de Paris were founded in 1964 by Henri-Claude Fantapié and since then they have figured ever more frequently on the international music scene. The history of the orchestra is marked by a wide range of recordings (F. Couperin, A. Scarlatti, Telemann, Tartini, Vivaldi, a complete edition of the 17 symphonies of D. Scarlatti, Haydn, Villa-Lobos, J. Wiener) and by its participation in most major international festivals in the company of soloists of the first rank (M. Rostropovitch, P. Tortelier, L. and P. Kogan, H. Szeryng, J.F. Manzone, T. Vesmas, N. Zabaleta, A.M. Bondi, M. Mesplé, B. Soustrot and R.André, among others). From its inception, the position of concertmaster has been held by Jacques Francis Manzone. Since 1977, Raphaëlle des Graviers has also been appointed first violin of the orchestra. After performing in over 600 concerts, the orchestra moved permanently to Seine-Saint-Denis and it now no longer performs as a unit, with its members devoting their time to training young musicians and providing support for the local and regional orchestras of which Henri-Claude Fantapié is director.