Aspirations – Piano Music by Marcus Blunt


Catalogue No: DDV 24148
EAN/UPC: 809730414824
Release Date: February 2014
Genres: ,
Discs: 1
Total Playing Time: 65:21


Marcus Blunt was inspired by Shaw’s Man and Superman to express in music a positive and purposeful philosophy of life. His Sonata No. 3 (The Life Force) was the result. Throughout his music one finds influences from Scarlatti (classical structure and counterpoint) to Scriabin (rich luxuriant romanticism). His music reflects places and people to a large degree, so many pieces are pictures in sound. This is a fine anthology of works brilliantly played by Murray McLachlan and should help to give Marcus Blunt’s music its proper place amongst the finest of modern piano repertoire. His orchestral, chamber and instrumental works have also been performed and broadcast worldwide to great acclaim.

Originally on limited release as Dunelm DRD0269, now available worldwide in our Diversions Dunelm Series.

Track Listing

    Marcus Blunt:

  1. Piano Sonata No. 3 – The Life Force (6:59)
  2. I. Prelude No. 1 – Passacaglia (2:20)
  3. II. Prelude No. 2 – Theme (1:14)
  4. III. Prelude No. 3 – Variation (Jiglet) (0:28)
  5. IV. Prelude No. 4 – Homage to Scarlatti (2:41)
  6. V. Prelude No. 5 – Homage to Scriabin I (2:17)
  7. VI. Prelude No. 6 – Homage to Scriabin II (1:13)
  8. VII. Prelude No. 7 – Adieu! (0:38)
  9. Iona Prelude (3:05)
  10. Iona Caprice (0:40)
  11. I. Piano Sonata No. 2 – I. Elegy (4:25)
  12. II. Piano Sonata No. 2 – II. Scherzo (3:21)
  13. III. Piano Sonata No. 2 – III. Fantasia (4:51)
  14. Malta Nocturne (1:42)
  15. November Nocturne (1:42)
  16. Nocturne on the name Frank Bayford (2:21)
  17. I. Piano Sonata No. 1 – I. Fantasia (Allegro) (3:24)
  18. II. Piano Sonata No, 1 – II. Variations (Adagio) (8:04)
  19. Prelude on a fugue theme by J.S. Bach (1:40)
  20. Fantasy on Scriabin (6:19)
  21. Fantasy on the name Gabriel Fauré (2:52)
  22. Fantasy on the name Murray McLachlan (3:05)



Blunt displays a fertile imagination and is served in exemplary fashion by the indefatigable Murray McLachlan. Magical performance… A fascinating introduction to a composer whose music deserves wider currency; recommended.

” —Colin Clarke
The Classical Reviewer

Works of real depth and substance … brilliantly played by McLachlan. Blunt is extremely lucky in his pianist Murray McLachlan who does so much to bring out all the beauties and attractions of these works. The recording is excellent and there are booklet notes by the composer.

” —Jonathan Woolf