Christopher Fox: Natural Science


Catalogue No: MSV 28526
EAN/UPC: 809730852626
Artists: ,
Release Date: March 2012
Genres: ,
Discs: 1
Total Playing Time: 58:42

These works demonstrate yet another peak in the creativity of Christopher Fox; disarmingly simple, they demonstrate his uncanny ability to create music from the most unlikely inspirations such as the superb poetry of Ian Duhig; travels through a cityscape, or the calculations of planetary orbits; also these pieces make use of tunings other than the ‘normal’ equal temperament we are familiar with thus creating an other-worldly (yet firmly rooted in daily life) soundstage.

Track Listing

Christopher Fox:

  1. fur Johannes Kepler (14:15)
  2. BLANK (11:12)
  3. Trummermusic: A Berlin Diary 1947 – I. First Light in Lichterfelde (1:46)
  4. Trummermusic: A Berlin Diary 1947 – II. Kurfurstendamm (2:04)
  5. Trummermusic: A Berlin Diary 1947 – III. In the U-Bahn (1:18)
  6. Trummermusic: A Berlin Diary 1947 – IV. The weather is wonderful (5:49)
  7. Trummermusic: A Berlin Diary 1947 – V. To the Brandenburger Tor (2:40)
  8. Trummermusic: A Berlin Diary 1947 – VI. Night train to Helmstadt (0:51)
  9. Generic Composition no. 8 (9:05)
  10. Natural Science (7:37)
  11. Sol-Fa Canon for Aldo Clementi (0:59)



This excellent disc acts as a reminder of the clarity of Fox’s voice and the depth of his language. Alfrun Schmid is a superb vocal soloist. Her pitching is exemplary. The flighty viola part [in Natural Science] is superbly rendered. The keyboard Sol-Fa Canon for Aldo Clementi makes for the perfect end for a stimulating disc.

” —Colin Clarke
The Wire

The message is clear – equal temperament is useful, and here’s some beautiful sounds created from it.

” —Philip Clark

Often very beautiful to listen to. The playing of the Trio Scordatura is excellent throughout in what must be music peculiarly difficult to keep in tune. The recording enables one to hear every detail.

” —Paul Corfield Godfrey

[The Sol-Fa Canon] is fun and puts a fitting end to this interesting disc. The instrumental playing is excellent throughout…. Fascinating.

” —Maria Nockin