Gordon McPherson: Detours


Catalogue No: MSVCD 92073
EAN/UPC: 5060054460156
Artists: ,
Release Date: June 2003
Discs: 2
Total Playing Time: 88:56

“Detours” is inspired by the composer’s personal memories and reflections concerning cars. It draws on sources and references of a distinctly non-classical nature, but cannot in any way be called “crossover” – more it is a fusion of genres, as are the other works, brilliantly performed by Psappha.

Track Listing

    Gordon McPheson:

  1. I. Detours – Echo’s Tape (8:50)
  2. II. Detours – Memory Crash (9:36)
  3. III. Detours – Only the Driver Deserves to be Saved (6:07)
  4. IV. Detours – Lorelie (9:45)
  5. V. Detours – Phoenix (10:25)
  6. Maps and Diagrams of Our Pain (24:30)
  7. Born of Funk (7:54)
  8. The Fear of Falling (11:49)


Musical Pointers

This is an arresting CD which compels listening. Psappha is an ensemble as innovative as is McPherson a composer. Excellent production, as is Metier’s way, and the cast list helpfully identifies who plays in what pieces. Strongly recommended for its originality and vitality.

” —Peter Grahame Woolf
The Wire

McPherson explores an intriguing hinterland between banal sounding sources and complex multi-dimensional extrapolations of the material with strong hints of Charles Ives. Great titles for great pieces

” —Philip Clark

I am delighted to report that I really enjoyed the music that is thankfully free of crossover. The music may at times allude to other musical genres, but it is never eclectic… McPherson’s seems, judging from these works, a calm gentle voice prone to nostalgia, which is reflected in his warmly melodic style…you will find much to enjoy here. Well worth investigating.

” —Hubert Culot