Marcus Blunt – Orchestral Works


Catalogue No: MSV 28570
EAN/UPC: 809730857027
Artists: , ,
Release Date: January 2018
Discs: 1
Total Playing Time: 63:21

Marcus Blunt (70 this year) is a well established British composer with an international voice – his harmonic language is distinctive and varied; arising from the Romantic tradition but full of complex contrapuntal chromaticism – and also touched by the mystic in subtle ways, perhaps more apparent in his solo piano music. These works are firmly in the modern mainstream and deserve a wide audience; from the convoluted lines of the Concerto, the restrained small orchestration of the Symphony to the picturesque nature of the Bassoon Concertino, Blunt’s works retain an intense interest for the listener.

Murray McLachlan, one of the UK’s most celebrated pianists, has long championed Blunt’s work. Lesley Wilson is one of Britain’s most seasoned bassoonists and the award-winning Manchester Camerata has recently risen to the highest ranking among British chamber orchestra.

Track Listing

Marcus Blunt (b. 1947): Piano Concerto

      1. I. Molto moderato
      2. II. Largo
      3. III. Allegro

    Aspects of Saturn

Concertino for Bassoon and String Orchestra

    1. I. Prelude
    2. II. Aria
    3. III. Scherzo
    4. IV. Elegy
    5. V. Finale

Symphony No. 2

  1. I. Allegretto
  2. II. Andante
  3. III. Allegretto
  4. IV. Allegretto