Michael Alec Rose: Il Ritorno


Available 17 November, 2017
Catalogue No: MSV 28574
EAN/UPC: 809730857423
Artists: ,
Release Date: November 2017
Genres: ,
Discs: 1

Michael Alec Rose is a leading light in the contemporary music world with compositions in many genres. He has received thirty composition awards to date, and is also an author of books and essays. He currently teaches at Vanderbilt University in Nashville. This album contains music for violin-viola duo and for solo violin, which is both gently modernist and also post-impressionist – music inspired by places (for example Dartmoor in England) and by paintings.

The soloists are both highly regarded both in their native England and internationally. Peter Sheppard Skærved is well represented in many recordings as soloist and as leader of Longbow Ensemble and the Kreutzer Quartet and has made over 60 CDs for Divine Art/Metier, Toccata, NMC, Naxos and other labels. He has given concerts in over 30 countries, has had over 400 works dedicated to him and is also an accomplished painter and writer. Violist Diana Mathews is sought after as soloist, chamber and orchestral player and is very active in the new music world.

Track Listing

    Michael Alec Rose (b.1959):

  1. Unturned Stones – I. Eppur si muove
  2. Unturned Stones – II. A Courtesy Towards being
  3. Unturned Stones – III. Coming Home to the World
  4. Il Ritorno – I. Preamble
  5. Il Ritorno – II. Bearings
  6. Il Ritorno – III. Silence
  7. Il Ritorno – IV. Water
  8. Il Ritorno – V. Stone
  9. Il Ritorno – VI. Song
  10. Mornington Caprice
  11. Diaphany