Silence of the Night


Catalogue No: MSV 28514
EAN/UPC: 809730851421
Artists: , ,
Release Date: May 2009
Genres: , , ,
Discs: 1
Total Playing Time: 70:37
Sample: "Scena" for violin and piano (beginning)

British composer JEFFREY LEWIS has produced some absolutely stunning music – modernist in some ways but always reaching out to the listener – deeply spiritual and hauntingly beautiful, especially the wonderful Silentia Noctis for soprano and piano. Anyone wanting a perfect introduction to the best of contemporary music should look no further.

Track Listing

    Jefffrey Lewis:

  1. Silentia Noctis (14:15)
  2. Duologue (12:23)
  3. Sereno (16:43)
  4. Scena (15:39)
  5. Stratos (11:37)



[Silentia Noctis] has a vocal line acutely sensitive to the texts and a hinting, alluding and prompting piano line, this is a fine and in many ways compelling setting. Caroline MacPhie and David Jones, both excellent. [Duologue is a] thoroughly convincing and appealing work. Lewis has been admirably served by his engineers and by committed and subtle performances

” —Jonathan Woolf