Transitional Metal: Music by Fumiko Miyachi


Catalogue No: MSV 28563
EAN/UPC: 809730856327
Artists: , , , ,
Release Date: September 2017
Discs: 1
Total Playing Time: 58:25

Music and performances by the very talented Fumiko Miyachi featured on ‘Miniaturised Concertos’ with Kate Halsall and this is the first showcase portrait album of her music for piano duo (played with Halsall), piano solo, chamber ensemble and brass band. Much of the music here is inspired by the Periodic Table of the Elements and displays a crispness, neatness and efficiency of writing, often with a high rhythmic drive and clarity of texture. The album, includes two fascinating settings of Shakespeare Sonnets too and the performers are all now or recently associated with the vibrant young community of musicians in Birmingham, England.

Fumiko Miyachi was born in Tokyo in 1979 and began piano lessons at the age of three. After moving to the UK in 1993 she began to study composition and cello at the Royal College of Music and is now a most successful composer with many performances taking place each year. Since 2006 she has been Visiting Tutor at Birmingham Conservatoire.

Track Listing

    Fumiko Miyachi

  1. Co27 (Cobalt)
  2. Two Shakespeare Songs – I. Mine eye and heart are at a mortal war
  3. Two Shakespeare Songs – II. Betwixt mine eye and heart a ldeague is took
  4. Ag47 (Silver)
  5. C12
  6. L.S. No. 1
  7. L.S. No. 2
  8. Au79 (Gold) – I.
  9. Au79 (Gold) – II.
  10. Au79 (Gold) – III.


The Chronicle

This is decidedly modern music that fans of more traditional classical music could get a grip on from the start. Overall, a modern, crisp collection of work but quite approachable and personable.

” —Jeremy Condliffe